Sunday, December 21, 2008

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Aristolochia gorgona sketch

Costa Rica trip plan

I want to join a group tour to Costa Rica, here is the details, tour is from May 1-10, then I will add a side trip for a few days to go to La Selva Biological Station to paint Aristolochia gorgona and other tropical vines.

May 1 Fri Flying into San Jose
May 2 Sat Small town of Fortuna, night walk of Silencio Trail, to see Spider Monkeys and exotic birds, and see Volcano Arenal at night
May 3 Sun Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge, Rio Frio, to spot howler monkeys, lizards, caimans, sloths, and endemic birds
May 4 Mon Lake Arenal, Santa Elena
May 5 Tue Monteverde Cloud Forest, sky walk along suspension bridges at the canopy level
May 6 Wed Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park
May 7 Thu guided walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park
May 8 Fri back to San Jose
May 9 Sat San Jose optional activities: Jardin Botanico Lankester
May 10 Sun La Guacima Butterfly Farm
May 11 Mon La Selva Biological Station
May 12 Tue LS
May 13 Wed LS
May 14 Thu LS
May 15 Fri San Jose
May 16 Sat back to Vancouver

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Costa Rica tour

I found out there is a Eco Tour organized by my old college going to Costa Rica this May 2009 for 10 days. What an opportunity! I really hope to go and experience the rainforest and also hopefully paint the aristolochia gorgona.
The tour mentioned Arenal Volcano, Monteverde Cloud Forest, Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge, and Manuel Antonio Rain Forest.
I think I will enquire about more information from the tour and hopefully will be able to do a side trip for my painting.
Aristolochia gorgona is at Estacion Biologica la Selva or at Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui.
I am reading up on both for locations to the above places of interest, I think they are located in more of less day trip distance.
Aristolochia gorgona flowers thru out the year and so it will be a hit or miss but I think with some planning I will be able to find at least a flower in bud or bloom to paint.